Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

It is true that historical buildings are defended by the government because of its intangible cultural value. While some people believed that these constructions ought to be replaced by other modern buildings at the request of the increasing infrastructure nowadays. First of all, historical buildings have an abundant value that cannot be seen by eye's. They are the witness of historic and monumental events of the country. To illustrate, Thang Long Imperial Citadel is a complex of relics associated with the history of Thang Long - Hanoi citadel starting from the pre-Thang Long period through the Dinh - Tien Le dynasties and flourishing under the Ly, Tran, Le dynasties, this is a massive architectural work and has become the most important relic in the system of relics in Vietnam. More than that, historical sites are the architectural achievements because they are invaluable in art or construction. For instance, the tomb of Khai Dinh has a special construct with a fascinating fusion of Asian and European touches. Secondly, it is apparent that the government should associate contemporary and immortal buildings in their master plan. Many old buildings have been preserved as attraction destinations for tourism or become administration offices. In this way, historical sites can still exist with the new unique and appealing look. Furthermore, it also boosted the tourism industry of the country. To sum up, it is clear that historical buildings are protected by many countries for many benefits. Despite the opinion that old buildings should be replaced by other modern landmarks, I believe that these old buildings need to be preserved and maintained for their unique value.