In the past, shopping was a routine domestic task. Many people nowadays regard it as a hobby. To what extent do you think this is a positive trend?

In the last 20 years the budget families spend in retail markets has considerably increased around the world. This could be seen as a result that some people do not consider shopping as a domestic task anymore, in fact, it is seen as a leisure activity. This essay completely agrees that this change in people’s perception is beneficial because it brings business opportunities as well as entertainment for the public. The first reason why I think that considering shopping a hobby is constructive is because it opens the possibilities to a huge number of entrepreneurships to develop their businesses in an uptrend market. This is to say, since presently shopping malls are more enjoyable places, the opportunities to take new products and services to these are higher than ever. For example, research carried out by University of Valley pointed out that during the last decade, the amount of new businesses opened in Colombia is twice bigger in comparison with the past decade and that is a consequence of the marketing campaigns aimed to change people’s perspective on shopping. Another reason why seeing shopping as a leisure activity is a positive trend is because it brings entertainment to families. In other words, due the significant growth of shopping malls it could be considered as the perfect place to enjoy with the loved ones. Indeed, based on a survey carried out by the Colombian Trading Agency, shopping is considered the leisure activity preferred by the Colombian families. In conclusion, the fact that shopping is considered a leisure activity instead of a domestic task has got positive implications since not only new businesses can have a participation in the market, but also families can have an enjoyable place to share incredible moments.