One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What are the causes and the solutions?

It is believed that traffic jam in cites and town centres has became a major concern to many governments and individuals which disturb people’s lives and affect the environment. In this essay I will mention some of the causes for that issue and shed lights on possible solutions to that growing concern. First of all, one major reason for that problem is the large delivery vehicles that blocking the streets by parking in unauthorized bays which result in long ques of cars that entering the city. To tackle that, government ought to identify specific time for deliveries and loading which is preferable to be outside the early working hours, thus it could reduce the congestion inside the towns. Secondly, it is known that many administrative offices are located in the centre and people tend to visit these places for different purposes such as applying for jobs or even for shopping and sending or receiving some official documents. A solution for a government is to encourage online processes such as providing online portals for common procedure. Moreover, it is advisable to build different administrative buildings around the country so that travelling to city centre will be unnecessary. Furthermore, many people use their cars inside the centre which may result in clogging up the streets and increasing the pollution levels due to high emissions of gas and petrol around the city. Therefore, government should organise different campaigns to encourage the public to cycle by adding more cycle lanes and pedestrianizing the city centre to make it environmentally friendly. For example, In France, where driving car is banned in most of the streets in city centre which is a fruitful technique to increase the cyclists and pedestrians. To sum up, traffic congestion remains one of the issues that disturb people’s lives and government have to identify the different root causes and provide possible solutions.