The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Position of women The last 5 decades marked several changes in gender roles globally. One such example is the attitudes towards gender differences in countries such as America, Britain, Australia and Singapore. These may offer a stark contrast to other societies where one's gender hinders a life choice. Two qualities that seem of great importance to the position of women are the career paths available and the difference in treatment of different genders. First, there are pronounced differences between what work women could do in the past and in the present. In conservative households and living environments, women of the past would be expected to channel their energy into indoor activities or home-based activities. For instance, a typical day could include cleaning, cooking, looking after the children or sewing. In contrast, more job opportunities are available presently, be it in office-based settings or in heavy labour. A large contributory factor to that is the openness and inclusion of employers considering the capabilities of an individual and not just one's gender. In many countries, men still form the majority of the nation's army. However, there has been a rise in women employed in national security units, which was a lot less common 50 years ago. Another signicant difference is the treatment women receive from those around them. Up till recently, it seemed acceptable to question a woman's mood and behaviour and attribute it to a stereotype of the gender. This outdated attitude indicates a lack of respect and understanding from other parties. It is important to celebrate the huge progress in employers' perspectives of hiring women and society accepting females in male-dominated positions. However, one should also consider what other differences lie in society. For example, Indian society has a history of ruling in favour of men and perpetrators in cases of rape and abuse. In similar cases involving men and women, a notable number of countries would be hesitant to credit a victim or woman's testimony. Additionally, Gender equality is not a goal but a status that needs to be maintained. Thus, I would contend that society can not make a valid claim to 'achieve' gender equality. After all, there is still more work to be done.