Water is in short supply in many countries of the world, but consumption of water by families is increasing. Why is this happening? What can be done to preserve water?

Water shortage is a serious problem in many parts of the world, however the demand for water by households is ascending. This essay will explain the reasons for this and suggest ways to save water. On the one hand, water is in short supply because of extreme weather. In recent century, global warming is become more and more serious, this causes a higher chance to have extreme weather. For instance, there will be drought or heat wave. When temperatures rise, water evaporates quickly and increases the risk of drought, which may cause shortage in water. Moreover, the consumption of water by families rises because of the advancement of technology. Nowadays, many new styles of household appliance require a large amount of water. For example, washing machine and dishwasher need to use a lot of water each time. Therefore, the water used in residential area greatly increases. On the other hand, there are two methods to preserve water. One of the ways is educate citizens to save water. The government can emphasise the seriousness of water shortage and educate citizens some ways to prevent using too much water like turning the tap off while not using it. As a result, citizens may try to use less water in order to protect the environment. Another way is to encourage the use of water efficient products. The government can encourage citizens to use water efficient appliances such as water efficient showerheads and washing machines, they should also pay attention to water efficiency labels. To conclude, water shortage is mainly because of weather problem and the advancement of technology. However there are still some ways to tackle the problem.