Many people argue that in order to improve educational quality, high school students are encouraged to make comments or even criticism on their teachers. Other thinks it will lead to loss of respect and discipline in the classroom. Discuss both views

People have different views about whether allowing students to evaluate or criticize their teachers. While some argue that this two-way communication in the class could result in disrespect and indiscipline, I believe that this approach could make an improvement in the quality of education systems. On the one hand, there are several reasons why it can be argued that students who are given permission to assess the teachers could lead to the lack of respect and discipline in the classroom. Firstly, as young students are immature, impulsive and inexperienced, they could easily give negative words to teachers when it comes to controversial issues. For instance, students could give a wrong answer for a Math exercise, but insist that they are right, and this lack of knowledge could make them lose tempered and criticize their teachers. Secondly, the class may be in chaos due to massive numbers of comments. Opinions can vary from students to students, and it is impossible for teachers to find out the best way that satisfies all the students. On the other hand, I believe that giving students the freedom in expressing their thoughts and feelings to teachers could enhance the quality of education. Perhaps the principal reason is that this interaction could boost students ’ critical thinking and particularly ensure the level of comprehension. For example, the teachers may teach too fast that students are not able to understand; in this case, thanks to learners’ responses, teachers could adjust their speeds and methods so that students could fully retain the knowledge. Another reason is that this approach could improve teachers ’ pedagogical skills. Teachers who do not carefully prepare the content of lessons may provide wrong information, and feedbacks of students could help them find out their mistakes. In conclusion, I would contend that encouraging students to judge their teachers could lead to increased educational quality despite the possibility of disrespectful and undisciplined attitudes among students.