A big salary is much more important than job satisfaction. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that a huge income is more crucial than feeling fulfilled at the workplace. This essay totally disagrees with that statement. I am of the opinion that feeling satisfied with your job is necessary for your career growth and development, as well as for reducing the risk of developing stress-related health problems. First of all, pursuing a passion leads to success in the career. In other words, only when a person is happy and satisfied with his work, he will be motivated to do an excellent job and accomplish remarkable results. As a result, he will gain work experiences and achievements, which are required for his career growth and success in his particular field. For instance, my uncle is passionate about coding and inventing mobile applications. Due to his diligence and hard work, his career thrives, and he was even featured in Forbes 30 under 30 list. Furthermore, having a high position job with a huge paycheck doesn’t guarantee a happy, contented and disease free life. In contrast, the higher the job position is, the more stress a person will have to deal with, thus increasing the risk of developing stress-related health diseases, both physical and psychological diseases, such as obesity, diabetes, hypertension, stroke, depression, anxiety, and etc. According to a report commissioned by Australia, due to high levels of stress and work pressure, senior executives have a 30% higher chance of developing early onset of stress-related disorders than those in entry level jobs. Hence, having a high paid occupation is not worth it. To sum up, I strongly believe that having a high income occupation is inferior to a sense of accomplishment at work, as job satisfaction is necessary not only for better job performance and career success, but also for living a happy and healthy life.