Some people are making new friends by using socializing network website and Internet chat rooms. Some people say that this is a good thing. Other people say that people should make new friends by face-to-face chat. Discuss these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, it is hard to imagine reality without social media. A great number of humans consider creating a new friendship through chat rooms and social websites very convenient. Others assume that individuals should make friends by a face-to-face meeting. From my perspective, people can make new friends when they have already known each other. In this essay, I will support my answer with relevant examples. Initially, using social networks for setting up a new friendship is an extremely bad idea because of addiction. Those who practice social media a lot start to feel addicted by finding a new friend and chatting with him over and over again. To illustrate with an example, my friend spent much time chatting and scrolling, finding a new friend and she realized that she became addicted. She quit all of her social media and started to make real friends, not virtual ones. Secondly, a face-to-face meeting is more guaranteed for long-term relationships. You have time and opportunity to know the people who surround you and get familiar with their characteristics features. In this case, a new friendship will have a quality and will last long as you have already known the person whom you deal with. For example, I and my schoolmate are friends since school, we have a lot of in common to discuss, we support each other. This is possible only when you have one-on-one cases. To conclude, although social media has brought some benefits to society, the drawbacks of overusing them is much more crucial. I strongly believe, people should make a real friend with a long-lasting friendship which will have more quality than making friends through network websites.