It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

There is no one doubt that learning to get critical thinking for children at an early age is vital. I agree the idea that when teaching children, punishment would be required sometimes. However, parents and teachers should fully understand the purpose of punishment and the result from kids because punishment can give children both positive and negative effects. People will roughly agree that punishments are good for kids but the important thing people should understand is the early age of children life is like a glass. They are easily broken and damaged. Therefore, parents and teachers should wisely choose the type of punishment. Punishment types may vary between Western and Asian cultures. However, the main purpose of punishment to give children is to obey and focus on their learning, as well as it gives as a consequence if they failed to follow. Teachers and parents should care about the consequences of punishment too. If our punishment is too serious for kids, they can be hurt physically and mentally as well. Sometimes they kept their childhood nightmare forward until their old age. For instance, one of the surveys said most criminals and murderers had a bad experience during their childhood. Although all of their bad experiences are not only from punishments, it shows that punishment is not the only way to correct their behaviour. In my personal opinion, the sort of punishment should be different. It depends on the type of kid and age. For example, as a parent, if kids didn’t do school homework, they should explain first the advantages of education as a first step. The second step, if the kid still didn’t follow, parents cut his favourite snack or something he likes to show that this is a consequence of your disobedience. Meaning is if you fail to follow something given, you will face the consequences. This basic information is very useful for their future life. To sum up, I strongly support the idea that punishment will help children to reach their goals in the correct way.