Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now "one big traffic jam" How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

An increasing number of individuals are using cars over the past three decades which has led to massive traffic jams throughout the globe. This essay will discuss how true car ownership has an impact on this and provides solutions that the authorities can utilize to tackle this issue. To begin with, a vast majority of people prefer travelling by car. The number of individuals who own a car has been increased because they are convenient to use. Moreover, a lot of men and women travel to their work using cars and this has created immense chaos on roads. Public transportation is avoided by most of them due to lack of hygiene. Since everyone travel using these on a daily basis in urban areas, this has escalated traffic jam. For example, employees working in an organisation have to report on time to their work and they use cars as they can reach much faster as opposed to public transport such as bus or metro due to a long waiting process for purchasing a ticket. However,there are many solutions as governments can play an important role in discouraging people from using automobiles by creating awareness campaigns and improvising public transport facilities. Awareness campaigns can enlighten the owners about the detrimental effects of the emissions from cars. In addition, this approach might encourage them to adopt public transport. For instance, many awareness campaigns will persuade the participants to practice alternatives and there are a lot of programs where residents from all over the city are educated to minimize the usage of cars for short distances and go by walk or cycles. Furthermore, administrations can influence individuals to utilize public transportations by improving their hygiene as well as making them easier and uncomplicated. In conclusion, there is a rise in traffic in many developed places throughout the world due to many people owning a car. This essay discussed why cities are experiencing hectic traffic jams and also provided solutions to overcome this obstacle.