Today family members do not eat meals together. Why does this happen? Is this a positive or negative development?

In today’s modern society, it’s widely believed that family starts to get less close-knit, leading to each member eating meals separately. This essay would attempt to shed light on the primary causes of this situation before elaborating the reasons why it offers more demerits than merits from my perspective. One of the primary reasons leading to this current situation is due to technological advancement. Because of the exotic experiences that cutting-edge technology brings, not only children but also adults begin to indulge in. Soon, once they fully immerse themselves in the high-tech devices, they would slowly grow distance to people around them including their family without knowing, which results in family meals without enough members. Another reason why some families in modern times don’t eat meals together is because of the heavy workload that the adults in the family have to deal with from their workplaces. In this ever-changing world, businesses have to endeavour to keep pace with the market trends, leading to their workers dealing with heavy workloads as an obvious result. After having a hectic working schedule, people often just want some private time for themselves when they get home in order to relax and freely do what they desire. That’s why today some family meals tend to have absent adults. This situation turns out to impact badly on society because of the lack of affection between members of a family. People consider their high-tech devices to be more interesting than their families. They gradually grow cold and eventually treat their blood-related members like strangers. Furthermore, children that have to endure lonely meals because of their busy parents are likely to suffer from mental illnesses when they grow up due to the lack of love from their parents. In conclusion, there are two facts, which are believed to be the main contributors to this negative trend of today’s modern society. People should learn to appreciate more meal time beside their loved ones while they still can.