In many cities, problems related to overpopulation are becoming more common. Some governments are now encouraging businesses and individuals to move out of cities to rural areas. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Problems regarding overpopulation have become more common in many cities. therefore, businesses and individuals are suggested by the government to move to the outskirt of the city. The advantages of this do not outweigh the disadvantage, in which businesses will experience a large decline in customer number and individuals will be lack of chance to access advanced technology. On the one hand, moving out of urban to rural areas will cause a decrease in the number of consumers. People may claim that working in rural areas provides the employees with a healthier working environment. However, due to the deplorable transport system outside the cities, the drivers may face difficulties while travelling to the firm. For example, this causes the customers less likely to visit the company and more time is also needed for the transportation of products. Thus, it is difficult to maintain the number of customers in rural areas compared to that in cities although it provides the workers with a healthier lifestyle. Furthermore, an individual could find it hard for living in the country site, due to less opportunity for them to expose to new technologies. New technologies are significant to aid one in various aspects of their life. People need fast-respond telecommunication systems for both work and entertainment in their daily life. For instance, minimizing the delay for file exchange, document upload, and research for either work or study are important criteria in the working environment, and less frequent leisure pastimes such as watching movies or playing games could occur, which is caused by poor digital signal at the outskirt. In conclusion, the government plan for the movement of firms and people to the country site is not a good approach as there are more drawbacks compared to benefits. Instead, the government should consider expanding the urban or improving the facilities in the rural areas to overcome the serious issue of overpopulation in the cities.