Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Other believe that every individual should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The line graph describes the changes in average emissions of CO2 per person in four different countries from 1967-2007. In 1967, the largest emission was in the UK, with 11 metric tons per person. It was followed by Sweden and Italy (around 9 metric tons and 4.5 metric tons respectively). Portugal emitted the smallest amount of CO2 - lower than 2 metric tons. Clearly, the UK remained the country with the largest amount of CO2 emission over this period, although there was a decline to 9 metric tons in 2007. Sweden CO2 emission peaked at just above 10 metric tons in 1977 before decreasing swiftly to 5.5 metric tons in 2007. Italy and Sweden showed an opposite trend during the following years. The emission in Italy overtook that in Sweden in 1988. After that, it rose to just below 8 metric tons in 2007, while Portugal saw the most drastic rise, with its emission increasing to the same level of Sweden eventually. Overall, the graph clearly shows how the emission level in the UK and Sweden decreased and the CO2 emissions in the remaining two countries increased over the four decades.