Unemployment remains the biggest challenge to school-leavers in most countries’ How far do you agree with this assessment? What other challenges face young people today?

In this contemporary epoch, unemployment is a worrying challenge, especially in times of economic instability and social unrest. While in numerous countries it is acknowledged as the largest issue, I believe that there is a range of equally pressing matters, which should be taken into account. Firstly, it must be admitted that joblessness can undermine the young generations' economic prospects, which can cause social mobility. Moreover, several types of crimes such as theft, robbery, hijacking could be increased dramatically. Nevertheless, this problem can be ameliorated by coordinated steps by both government and private sectors. For example, recently, the Canadian government has imposed some legislation with the cooperation of private companies, which will facilitate job seekers. Hence, when it is realised that we have other severe concerns, we should see them are as serious. Thinking about other major problems, age demographics could be one of them, whereby young people have to bear the burden of increasing the older population with the high longevity of the nation. Additionally, they have to pay the extra tax and work for a long time, which force them mentally to migrate to another country with low work pressure. For instance, we can see south Europe, where ambitious young people are leaving their country to earn better, and therefore leading more prosperous lifestyle. Consequently, This are exacerbating the issue for the remaining people. Apart from those problems, we must remember that a substantial proportion of youngsters are facing global existential threats like famine, drought, pandemic and many other diseases. In particular, during the covid19 pandemic situation, many young have lost their lives, jobs, economic status and many more things. Such problems are a danger to their safety and livelihood, which could be more severe than unemployment. In conclusion, it seems that we can not deny that joblessness is a significant problem, but we can not ignore the other concerns. The burden of the elderly folks and natural catastrophe is more severe, which should not be overlooked.