Some feel that schools should be mixed with both girls and boys attending while others feel the genders ought to be separated. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Co-ed schools have been commonplace in many countries. Whereas some critics argue that it is the ideal teaching model for students, others believe that male and female students should be taught separately. I agree with the latter as single-sex education has a myriad of benefits for students. Some critics concur that a co-ed school allows students to be better prepared for the real world. This is because a co-ed school is a microcosm of the real world where males and females collaborate. In a co-ed school, students have innumerable opportunities to interact with people from the other gender to build up their people skills and understand the nuances between the male and the female. This allows them to be better at dealing with individuals from the other gender when they grow up. However, I believe that single-sex education is superior. For starters, there are fewer distractions in uni-sex schools. Instead of being bothered by relationship issues, which is prevalent in co-ed schools, students could concentrate on their academic studies. On top of that, when students study in a single-sex school, they are less likely to be exposed to gender prejudices. In a mix-sex school, for instance, children are often discouraged by stereotypes like boys are naturally better in science subjects than girls. In contrast, in a single-sex school, students are not being compared to the opposite gender and they are encouraged to get the best out of themselves. In conclusion, although having both genders studying in the same institution prepares students for the future, it is much more redounded to the development of the children if they are in a single-sex school as they have much fewer distractions and they are also not hindered by gender biases.