In many schools and universities today, women have a tendency to study the humanities (such as the arts and languages) while men more often major in science related subjects. Some believe this tendency should be changed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Men and women usually have different tastes regarding the study major. Based on gender-specific characteristics, arts and language fields are more favourable for women, while sciences are liked by men. I believe that forcing people to change their preference of favourite major violates their freedom, but it is possible to alter people’s minds by raising their awareness. To expand the aforementioned statement, females often tend to study humanities because their mental chemistry is bound with social and artistic abilities, while males like to build or solve problems. Technically, this is a result of behaviour handed down by our ancestors whose men went hunting and women looked after children and households. Thus, setting an obligation on each sex to do what is not their favourite would not resolve the lack of sexual diversity in majors. Nevertheless, the social advances and modern lifestyle have definitely proved that everyone is able to graduate and become professional in every field of study, regardless of gender, but, the majority of people are still engaged with traditional stereotypes. In this sense, pedagogical experts should be responsible for developing plans to increase people’s knowledge. For instance, initiating workshops for women to get them familiar with the sciences which are not popular among them can be a clue. To summarize, it is natural that women are not quite in favour of science-related studies, and keeping the current situation would exacerbate it. It is better to inform people about their skills to diversify them in different fields.