Some people think that universities should provide gradates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

As the society develops, people are attaching the importance to knowledge. Nonetheless, knowledge is divided into practical and academic ones. Views are spited into 2 stances which one side thinks universities ought to provide graduates with practical skills and knowledge required in the workplace whereas another side insists the true function of an university, which is to give access to knowledge. Given the rapid growth of technology, I hold the standpoint that immersing practical knowledge to gradates is the main function of an university. One point which I believe to be absolutely pivotal is the fact that being equipped with practical skills and knowledge helps graduates to obtain job offers drastically. In the era of Metaverse, which technology is changing every-day, there is always tight time frame for people to get things done or to fix issues. In reality, when college students are competing for an internship position, chances are that the skillset requirements are actually not low, which they need more functional knowledge so as to gain an internship opportunity, not to mention when job hunting in the society after graduating. However, it is an irrefutable fact that education itself coaches students analytical skills and logical thinking. Many students may argue that those theories and models taught at school doesn’t apply to the real world. The throw of logic and analytical skills they obtained from learning those knowledge, however, are actually influencing how they think and act in long-term. All in all, combining both actual work-related skills and the soft skills brought by purely knowledge can foster the pillar of the society for the sake of the society’s sustainable development.