Meat production requires relatively more land than crop production. Some people think that as land is becoming scarce, the world’s meat consumption should be reduced. What measures could be taken to reduce the world’s meat consumption? What kinds of problem such measures cause?

Currently in today’s world, the amount of space people have for the production of different goods has become a subject to change. As a result, as,currently the lands all around the globe are becoming less and less in size, the production of meat over the world should be decreased or even frowned upon. While the most practical approach to this would be to levy higher taxes on the use of vacant lands by farmers, this can result in considerable damage to economies of the most countries in all corners of the world. There are a number of measures that governments of every stripe can take in order to slow down meat production. One viable way is to put relatively higher excise duties on the amount of space that farmers are allowed to use within their own countries, which comes down to the shoulders of government officials. Put simply, if one has to pay a colossal amount of money for using the lands for production, this might lead to them branching out to other modes of business, thus leaving their current work. A good example is the Netherlands where an average farmer is required to pay an extra 5000$ for each hectare added to the previous amount of land. As this shows, it is the governments that can make a real difference. However, no matter how effective these steps could be, a lot more harm is likely to come in the wake of ceasing meat production. One of the main problems deriving from halting meat manufacturing could be a deteriorating economy that most benefits from the sales of meat products. This is in large part because, not only do these actions lead to a possible economic recession, but also cause ordinary people to suffer from a lack of meat consumption. For instance, Poland is one of many countries that get its cash flows through the export of meat products such as sausages and meat cans, so deprivation of their rights to sell those products would mean a stop in their thriving economy. Thus, attempts to reduce meat products are likely to have adverse effects on the economy of a country. In conclusion, although some steps could be taken towards tackling the issue of meat production, this might further lead to other more pressing matters that should be dealt with such as a potential loss of the main source of cash flows.