As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of the individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

The fact that the majority of mature adults spend at least eight hours at their workplace so satisfaction is believed to play a crucial role in deciding their happiness. There are many elements supposed to have great impacts on the worker's pleasure and not all employees reach their profession's expectations in reality. Employees get job satisfaction in a number of ways. Firstly, a person needs to feel that their work is valued properly. For instance, positive feedback from the superiors might lift their moods and make them more energetic to complete the tasks given enthusiastically. Secondly, when someone feels they are making progress through training opportunities, they tend to stay with the company longer instead of applying for the same vacancy offered by another organisation. Also, the sense of belonging to a team or community also contributes to job satisfaction. To make it clear, a worker's work performance is better if she works in an environment where colleagues are friendly and helpful. The fact is that not everyone enjoys their work. In fact, many people accept the offer given by the company because they have few choices. As my observation, fresh graduates take a nine-to-five job without feeling contented. As a result, meeting the deadlines turns out to be a disaster. Some even feel overwhelmed and exhausted after work. Some repetitive and monotonous jobs are still conducted by uneducated labours who consider they are their likelihood. For example, as my grandparents were, my uncle did not get formal education. Hence, he was not qualified to work in an office like most of his friends. He currently works at a factory where his responsibility is to cut the fish into pieces for eight hours. He wants to apply for a job that offers better wages but there are few chances for him. In conclusion, many factors actually exert an effect on how fulfiled a worker is. Among them, I am convinced that income and the working environment are the two most elements deciding the employee's happiness.