Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recently, there has been a controversial debate on whether schools should teach students about the science and preparation of food. While others consider important subjects should be taught in school time. As far as I am concerned, learning the basic survival skill is also a crucial task that needs to learn from school. Therefore, both views will be discussed below. To begin with, the science and preparation of food is a fundamental knowledge that needs to learn by everyone. As some parents may have busy jobs and have no time to teach their children about cooking or food safety, students may have trouble feeding themselves or put themselves in danger by the improper use of the kitchen. For example, the misuse of food may cause disease. Therefore, introducing the food study into the school curriculum can prevent such accidents as students have a basic understanding of food. On the contrary, some people think adding food study is a waste of time in school. As the mainstream classes such as Chinese, English and mathematics are the most important subjects in school. And the main purpose for students to learn in school is for the final exam. Therefore, those fundamental living skills should not be taught in school. However, in my opinion, the addition of food science can color school life and give teenagers more passion for learning. In conclusion, studying the science of food and how to prepare it can give a basic understanding and living skill for students, moreover, it can make the school life more interesting. Although some people think it’s not appropriate to teach food in school, learning different skills are also important and survival skills should be prioritized.