Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is sometimes considered that history is one of the highly essential educational courses since it promotes national identity and educates individuals about their ancestor's origin,while others argue that science and technology subjects are more crucial in this contemporary time because they produce expertise in various fields and boast nation economy. In my opinion, l agree that science courses are the most relevant. To begin with, incorporating science courses into the school curriculums give room for students to learn about their country traditions and beliefs at an early age which in turn will give them a sense of belonging. Furthermore, history -related courses play an indispensable role in enlightening people about their progenitor's origin. For example, how Nigeria got independent from the British colony are being taught in elementary education. Therefore, history subjects enable citizens to have basic information about their nation. In contrast, science and technology subjects are more valuable in societies nowadays because graduates which are very vast in the fields of medicine, technology and engineering are highly sought for. In other words, they provide essential services to humanity. For instance, ln 2020,when Covid 19 pandemic evolved and global health were at stake, the service rendered by Nurses, Doctors and Scientists cannot be underemphasized. Moreso, innovative works of science and technology such as solar power, robotics, web design had contributed tremendously to the country economy. To illustrate, CNN news in January 2021 reported that about 35 trillion dollars are generated annually from solar energy and petroleum production. Hence, science subjects make an undeniable impact on national wealth. The knowledge derived from science and technology can be utilized to make an informed decision in all spheres of life. Thus, l am of the opinion that science courses are more paramount in the communities than history. In conclusion, although history broadens people an understanding of the way of life and gives a sense of belonging, the positive impact of science and technology in the world at large can not be related to the background.