With a great variety of social networking websites,people often add complete strangers to their friend lists.Do you think that this tendency helps people to find new friends or is it just a mean to increase their self-esteem ?justify your opinion with relevant examples.

The usage of social networking sites has increased dramatically over the last few years. Although there are detrimental effects associated with it, the positive impacts cannot be neglected. I believe that it jas a significant contribution in bringing people closer. This essay will discuss various aspects of this topic. To commence with, social networking sites have a pivotal role in mitigating the communication gap between various communities. These have allowed us to connect with people all around the world. In addition to this, they also provide us with updates and news, creating a new world without a ground. People, for instance, can use this platform to highlight social issues, such as racism, resulting in putting pressure on the authorities to take action accordingly. On the contrary, over usage of the internet has shown negative impacts on our society. People use these sites excessively and become disjointed from their families in the pursuit of new friends. Teenagers, for example, tend to spend more hours on the internet affecting their relationship with their loved ones, resulting in an overall impact on social bonding. Moreover, children who are stressed due to their low performance at school or having peers who negative influence them, tend to find these social networking sites a way to increase their self-esteem. In conclusion, after a thorough analysis of the topic, while there are benefits of this technology, we have dire impacts as well. I believe that there should be a balance between the usage of this technology and family bonding time as it is the family’s responsibility to help their children attain confidence.