Some people think they have right to use as much freshwater as they want. Others believe governments should tightly control the use of fresh water as it is limited resource. Discuss both views and give your option

Some people are of the opinion that they should have complete rights to consume freshwater as they wish while supporters of the opposite viewpoint state that this valuable resource should be strictly monitored by authorities. From my very own point of view, the former makes more sense and this will be explained thoroughly with evidence and justifications. It seems undeniable for those who advocate for stricter regulations on water usage that it is crucial to ensure this precious resource is preserved for our future to come. To our knowledge, 70% of the world is covered by saltwater which humans are less likely to rely on for day to day use, while 5% of usable water is freshwater. As a result, many people are aware of what would happen to humanity if the water ran out. Also, the lacking of clean water is a pressing issue that is currently affecting the livelihoods of many, especially in West Africa, where people are struggling to scrape water off wells or dry lakes. To make the matter worse, water from sources are not even clean or usable. Consequently, citizens from these regions are fighting infectious diseases caused by contaminated water. Therefore, government intervention in water consumption is definitely a reasonable solution. Having said that, opponents on this matter have argued that the plentiful of water coming from various sources from rainfall to rivers, lakes and ponds should give us unlimited access and we can use as pleased. It is evident that humans have been using water for our daily activities for centuries, and this has not yet brought us any harm. To further justify this, industries or enterprises have been depending on water for the majority of their production. If this freedom was taken away, this might put great burdens on these companies, and in the long term, will affect the well-being of their employees. For example, when the government of Australia imposed a water activities during the dry season, many households and businesses were having a difficult time adjusting. Because of that, they had to lay off employees on certain days as they could only afford to run their machinery on certain days due to the water cut. In conclusion, raising awareness on freshwater can be considered important when it comes to preventing future repercussions by implementing regulations. I myself personally think that it is also important to consider the livelihoods of millions and the consequences of deriving people’s freedom of using what our Mother Earth has to offer.