Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Primary and secondary schools are the place where students are expected to learn multiple skills such as science, language, and essential life skills. Some people think that the science of food should be introduced in the curriculum, while others say that the time in school must be used to learn other important subjects. My personal opinion is individuals should not learn the specific subject on food in school. This essay will discuss both points of view and show why they should learn other important subjects instead. Unmistakably, learning about the food and how to prepare it are important. By understanding the nutritional aspect of the meal, as well as the correct preparation method, students will be better equipped with the knowledge on which to consume and which to avoid. For example, people nowadays have a higher propensity to become obese because of eating fast foods. Thus, learning about the specific nutritional and composition in detail will help students to make better decisions when choosing their meals. On the other hand, many others think that school time should be used to learn other important subjects, such as mathematics, geography and science. For primary and secondary pupils, general subjects are much more important because these subjects will help them prepare for higher education. Furthermore, specific knowledge of food science can be acquired later in a university. Therefore, students should be learning much broader aspects of the world's knowledge, rather than going deep into specifics in their primary and secondary levels. To summarise, although it is important to learn about food to ensure students make a healthier choice, school time should be used for other important subjects. Learning about the science of food and how to prepare it can come along the way, such as from other extracurricular school programs, and if the student becomes more interested in that subject, he or she can enrol later in a higher education level.