Some feel that the effects of advertising are positive for individuals and businesses, while others think they are negative. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In present-day society, advertisements are impacting people psychologically on a much deeper level. Some of them assert that the outcomes of adverts are favourable whereas others argue that it is only benefitting the corporates and hence downrightly disapprove this whole concept. Personally, I’m in favour of the former view and the reasons will be discussed in the subsequent paragraphs. To commence with, commercials prove to be a boon at times. For instance, emails regarding sales or the even the promotional messages aid in sticking to a budget while purchases. Also, with the advancement in technology, the artificial intelligence over the browsers keep a track on search histories and accordingly related adverts are suggested. Hence, overall a customer gains an overall idea about the availability of the essentials and non-essentials. Moreover, deals on online courses over various different platforms are also possible through the ad services which helps in selecting relevant modules. However, the means to expand a business at times is quite misleading. To elucidate, the marketing of Fair and Lovely and Fair and Handsome was targeted to achieve a fairer looking skin, promoting and supporting a bias of unrealistic beauty standards by targeting an individual’s insecurities. Specifically, both men and women with dusky skin. Therefore, acquiring a pessimistic approach to trade their goods. In summary, I would concede that advertisements are imperative to keep oneself up to date with the current trends despite that at times it might only present the positive aspects to it where viewers discretion in necessary. Overall, I agree that ads are a crucial for an informed lifestyle.(264)