During holidays or weekends, young people spend less time on outdoor activities in the natural environment, such as hiking and mountain climbing. Why? What can be done to encourage them to go out?

In today's modern era, youngsters are less interested in doing outdoor activities, like hiking and mountain climbing during their vacation. This tendency is increasing rapidly due to social networking sites and global warming. However, such types of situations can be tackled by letting them know that without outdoor sports it is impossible to lead a healthy life. One of the main reasons for spending less time on outdoor exercise is that nowadays, teenagers like to spend their free time with online friends through different social networking platforms, via Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and suchlike. Researchers around the world have found that staying online and browsing the internet are considered as an addiction like smoking, leaving adolescents no time to take up a new hobby. For example, my niece was Tiktoker when she turned 13 years old, and she spent days and nights making videos on phone. Apart from that, a changing climate is making weather hot day by day due to which young people not feeling like to go out and play or do activities like climbing, hiking, and many more. Therefore, social media and temperature change are responsible for not trying outdoor games. There are many ways by which we can encourage children to play outside of the house. Post the messages or videos on social media platforms about the health benefits of natural activities, to motivate youngsters to maintain their fitness. Furthermore, schools can organize more nature camping holidays or do plantations in needy areas to spread more greenery. For instance, in India the most recognized DPS school is organizing a tree plantation project every year for a week in the month of August to educate the students about the conservation of the environment through tree plantation. Hence, explaining the advantages of outdoor activities with an example is the best way to inspire the young generation to try outdoor sports. In conclusion, whereas social media or global warming deter children to go out but parents and schools should make them understand the benefits of outdoor activities.