Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people argue that government expenditure for budgeting in public service should be a priority instead of spending in the arts sector, which is wasting a budget plan. This essay agrees that government should play a role in investing money in public service, nevertheless, the government must not overlook the sector of art due to a society's need to enjoy entertainment and attraction. The significance of investing in the art sector such as music and theatre by the government is entertaining, educating and attracting the society, on top of that, they can get a higher profit through art activities. For instance, the local people and tourists get entertainment and new insight into Indonesian culture through a Gambang Kromong music concert. Moreover, the government can make a profit and benefit from its event and also can allocate the money into the other sectors. However, the government should invest and allocate the budget for public service areas as a priority. When the public sector has an improving service in several aspects of social life, it will increase public trust and convenience towards the government, also making the society live in the welfare. For example, the government allocates more of a budget for an educational institution, particularly in educational instruments and teachers’ salaries. As a result, the students’ output will attain the maximum of competency and gain the highest score. To sum up, although budgeting the money in the Art sector gain more beneficial through music concert or theatre, the sector of public service is most important to become a priority of the budgeting for increasing the public trust and convenience.