Getting promotions are one of the biggest motivators for hard work in the modern workplace. Why are people so driven to receive promotions? What other factors motivate people to work hard?

Job advancement is one good way workers get encouraged in modernized working environments. This essay will be discussing why people strive to receive promotions where they work as well as others things that can be a source of motivation to them. Undoubtedly, promotions have numerous benefits and this has made people keep clamouring for them at all times. To explain, attaining the desired level at work brings about a deep sense of fulfilment and self-actualization. This is because salaries are increased to commensurate levels and one can lay hands on them to make lifetime investments. For instance, my uncle was able to complete his dream house which he laboured to construct over the years the moment he received his retirement benefits this year. Unarguably, there are other motivating factors other than promotion. Firstly, a good leadership style does wonder when it comes to workers' motivation. To explain further, the democratic leadership style seems to be the best so far in influencing workers as it makes them strive willingly towards achieving the organizational goals. This is because the manager involves his subordinates during decision making and as well value their opinions. For example, in the hospital where I practice, before our managing director passes any rule, he relates it to us seeking for it to be critiqued after which he makes an amendment before shortlisting on the notice board. Secondly, good working equipment is also an enabling factor in a workforce. To expatiate, functional machines have a way of making the employees discharge their duties with minimal stress and as well function effectively. To illustrate, when I worked in a bread-making industry in 2010, there are many machines there which gave me and my colleagues the opportunity to produce thousands of loaves daily with minimal stress as the engine does most of the job. To conclude, a promotion at work is the biggest striving factor one can get and the relevance of a good leadership style and appropriate work tools cannot be overemphasized.