Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is seen that some organizations ask for personal information such as hobbies, interests and marital status of job seekers while applying for jobs. Some individuals think that this information is very much required and useful whereas others disagree. I personally believe this information is irrelevant for job applications. People, who think that personal information should be provided, believe that candidates can be easily judged by their personal choices. Along with applicants’ educational background and work experience, employers get to know about their personalities and personal preferences, which may help them to shortlist the candidates. Moreover, marital status may help the companies to determine whether the shortlisted candidates may need a dependent work visa or family care or childcare leaves. On the other hand, some people strongly disapprove of this view. They opine that personal information like leisure activities and marital status is immaterial at the workplace. Moreover, it seems unethical to ask someone about his or her marital status, as they may not be comfortable sharing this information as some people might be in complicated relationships. I personally believe that personal data should not be mandatory in the beginning while applying for any job. Firstly, when an aspirant applies for a position, he or she is a complete stranger to the employer. So he or she has the right not to disclose personal information. However, if the employer for the position selects him or her, personal information such as marital status or number of children can be asked for the sake of benefits provided by the employers. In conclusion, though some people endorse the view that candidates should declare their personal details such as hobbies, interests or marital status while applying for a job, I strongly disagree with this view.