The best way to reduce traffic congestion is to provide a free public transport service. To what extent do you agree or disagree?. Give your opinion and examples from your own experience.

Nowadays, almost every household has a car in their garage. Such a particular occurrence contributes to congestion that happens on the roads of crowded population areas. Some people believe that free public transportation could reduce the issues of traffic jams. However, I am against it. To begin with, traffic congestion is caused by too many private vehicles on roads. The situation gets even more severe as it becomes a trend. In view of this, some suggest having free public transportation as it contributes to reducing congestion. However, it can't tackle the root of the problem. For example, public vehicles like buses have regular bus stops. People can't directly go to their destination once they get off the buses. However, all these problems can be solved if they use private cars instead. Therefore, people who like private vehicles' convenience will still prefer that over public transportations. In order to handle this issue, the government can give certain policies to alleviate it. For instance, Jakarta is one of the cities which has the most roads with traffic jams in the world. The local government has a policy called "Odd-Even License Plate Number". In detail, cars with even and odd plate numbers could only operate on certain days and on certain roads respectively without collision, or else they have to be penalized. With policies like this can surely help to slacken the high traffic volume of the busy cities. To conclude, traffic jams would always be a challenge to solve by the authorities. One possible approach is restricting traffic volume according to the plate numbers.