Shopping is the favourite pastime for most of the young people. Why do ou think is that? Do you think that they should encouraged to do some other useful activities?

Shopping has grown into a multi-billion-dollar industry worldwide, catering for every desire from the necessary to the frivolous. Increasingly, shopping has come to be seen as a hobby in its own right, and a potentially costly one. There are benefits and drawbacks for both the individuals and society, as I shall outline below. Shopping for pleasure should be encouraged for a number of reasons. On an individual level, it provides a fun pastime and can be highly social, uniting friends, family and different generation in a shared passion. For some the enjoyment is in the browsing or window shopping, for others it is in the thrill of the purchase. The positive effects can include relaxation or, equally, the rush of adrenalin. Looking at the bigger picture, the popularity of shopping creates much-needed jobs. Moreover, healthy spending on the high street boosts the domestic economy. Undeniably, though, there are some downsides to this situation. For individuals, there are the assorted risks of impulse buying, overspending, and becoming a shopaholic. People find it hard to control their urges when faced with such vast arrays of tempting offers, especially with such persuasive advertising. From society’s point of view, shopping for leisure leads to a materialism, which may be profitable but does not aid genuine happiness. It may even beget more crime, as people become desperate to meet their material needs. Lastly, from an environmental perspective, increased shopping activity means higher levels of production which entails greater consumption of materials and energy from our finite supplies. In summary, shopping for leisure involves some desirable consequences, including pleasure, job creation and a healthy economy, but these come hand in hand with the risks of uncontrollable spending, a meterialistic society and the disappearance of natural resources.