In many countries, the tradition of families having meals together is disappearing. Why is this happening? What will be effects of it on family and society?

In this concurrent world, the family culture about crafting a meal together seems to be extinct. There are several reasons for this phenomenon; thus, will create an undesirable effect on family and community. This essay will explain the root cause of this situation as well as provide the impact on social culture. First and foremost, technology is beneficial for humanity to develop a wide range of knowledge among humanity worldwide. However, it can carry various drawbacks which can reduce social attitudes for each individual. For example, people will be more connected with each other, even with family member who lives on different continents by social media such as Facebook, WhatsApp, and Instagram. Nonetheless, this app contains hidden drawbacks inside, excessive usage for these apps lead people to be ignorant of their surrounding such as a family member. As a result, a large number of people nowadays, have less interaction with their family, even in breakfast, lunch, and dinner situations. In addition, less communication in the family might have enormous effects on society. For instance, teenagers who have fewer interaction with their family generally have less attention to their neighbourhood and have less respect for other people as well. Hence, inappropriate influence from media such as Television and YouTube will easily affect them. In conclusion, generally, technology is the main cause of this situation. It can restrain people to establish better communication with each other’s and will lead to various inappropriate behaviours in the community. The family should establish a rigid culture to reduce this issue to become a notorious habit in the future.