SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT PARENTS SHOUL ENCOURAGE THEIR CHILDREN TO TAKE PART IN ORGANIZED GROUP ACTIVITIES IN THEIR FREE TIME. OTHERS SAY THAT IT IS IMPORTANT FOR CHILDREN TO LEARN HOW TO OCCUPY THEMSELVES ON THEIR OWN. DISCUSS BOTH THESE VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR ON OPINION.

There is a growing trend toward group work among the youth and the beneficence of this cooperation is a matter of considerable parents' concern. This essay deals with this controversial topic from different perspectives. Regarding social matters, a great advantage of collaborating and participating in teamwork is acquiring essential communication skills and qualifications that are an integral part of future personal and interpersonal prospects. Evidence has shown that children with more efficient and productive social skills are more vulnerable to make simultaneous progress in individual and social lives, such as career progression and being a pleasant partner. Another positive outlook on this issue is that group work induces a sense of unity, sympathy, confidence and innovation. This might make children more productive to find creative solutions against their future potential economic and emotional challenges such as bankruptcy, divorce, relative deaths or other catastrophic live events. On the other hand, the most worrying aspect is that cooperation might be more time and energy consuming in comparison with the personal pastime. Striking examples are being professionally involved in athletic team sports, resulting in the lack of enough time to make more personal academic achievements. However, consulting with pedagogical experts to establish a justifiable balance between personal and social activities in school curriculums would decline the risk of these phenomena considerably. For the aforementioned reasons, there is no doubt that the ability to work in groups is an essential method of assimilating knowledge. Nevertheless, it should be supplemented by reasonable individual teacher-led leisure time activities.