Interviews form the basic selection criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few people believe that interview is the basic form of selection for a suitable candidate, whereas, other individuals suggest that there are better methods to employ a candidate. I agree with the former view to a large extent. This essay will discuss my idea and shall justify my opinion. To begin with, most Multinational companies have a structured way to recruit an applicant. They do it by interviewing a shortlisted nominee. To elaborate, Interviews can help to understand the characteristic of the person attending, their approach towards the problem, and how efficient are their solutions. Interviews can also show how good is his or her analytical skills and knowledge about the work. For example, the interviewer can set up a question such that he can have a brief idea of how good is his skills and knowledge. Another reason why interviews should be a reliable method for choosing an aspirant is, they are flexible to conduct. They have better responses rather than mail questions. Even the people who are not able to write or read can verbally attend the interview. For example, jobs like daily wages, security are certain sectors where people might not be able to write or read, for such jobs interview is the better method to hire. Although there are new ways to hire a suitable contestant, it is by conducting a competition at the national level and letting the participants do their best to deliver the desired outcome. In such a way companies can find excellent candidates even from second and third league colleges. For example, Larsen and Toubro conduct Technothrone every two years to hire direct fresher from college. To sum up, Even though there are new approaches building up for the hiring process, however, interviews are still to be the most efficient process to employ a correct candidate.