In many parts of the world, water sources are becoming more polluted. What are the consequences of this problem? What can be done to combat it?

Water bodies are becoming increasingly polluted across the globe. This essay will discuss the problems that can arise due to pollution including health-related issues and their impact on marine life. This essay will also suggest some possible solutions including the imposition of heavy taxes and general awareness among people. Many industrial outlets use rivers and streams as waste disposal units. Contaminated water acts as a source of water -borne diseases like cholera and typhoid. In addition, marine organisms also suffer because of effluents released from factories. Change in the composition of water could make the survival of these creatures difficult which could further result in epidemic conditions in the affected areas. For instance, a major oil spill around coastal oil refineries had already killed a major population of aquatic organisms. This would result in an ecological imbalance which could prove to be detrimental to mankind. However, general awareness among people and the imposition of heavy taxes by the government on industries disposing untreated waste are both critical to mitigating this problem. People need to realise if they continue with this trend of disposing waste in rivers and streams, their future generations will suffer in terms of health. For example, the government could play a vital by promoting education and awareness programmes among locals addressing issues that can arise due to polluted water. Therefore, in order to control water pollution, effort from both government and local bodies is mandatory. In conclusion, in this fast pace life water bodies are often treated as reliable sources to dispose of industrial waste. This essay discussed how effluents released from factories affect aquatic life and the health of the human race. This essay also suggested that solutions to this problem are twofold: effort from the government as well as the public to maintain the sanctity of rivers.