Some people work for the same organisation all their working life. Others think that it is better to work for different organisations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Most people tend to remain in the same organisation with their first job throughout their working life while others claim that this will impact their career overall. In my opinion, whilst this notion comes with a number of benefits, drawbacks should also be carefully examined. Those who advocate for people staying with the same organisation point to the advantage of thoroughly understanding how it works and also becoming familiar with the staff and processes. As long as they work hard, their promotion prospects are good and there is likely to be greater job security, with the promise of a good pension when they retire. For example, most companies in Asia value loyalty and tend to offer additional incentives to their long-term employees, including bonuses and reward schemes. This would encourage their staff to commit to the company longer. Albeit conceding the merits mentioned, I would contend that there are some downsides to this. One of these is that the person may get stuck doing the same job year after year. In some cases, this can lead to boredom and disillusionment. Moving from one organisation to another can be a strategic decision in order to have variety and acquire a range of skills and experience. A friend of mine started out as a barista, then he joined the government's organisation for years and now is working as a teacher. This has made him incredibly knowledgeable in a range of related fields and provided him with a much more interesting working life. In conclusion, although there are benefits to working for one organisation, it is also valuable for an employee to be able to offer a wide range of experience having worked for different companies. As long as it is planned carefully, I feel that change will ultimately benefit the employee and the employer.