Traffic congestion is becoming problomatic inmajor cities what solutions can be suggest to help to solve the problem

It is undeniable that nowadays, traffic is one of the biggest problems most major cities have to face. Jams, congestions and smoke are a source of environmental pollution and a threat to the health of the urban population. In the essay I will suggest solutions in order to avoid or, at least, minimize the effects of this issue. Firstly, the urban population have the basic right of breathing in an atmosphere free of pollutants. Consequently, most western cities have set a no-car zone where petrol-fuelled vehicles are forbidden. Moreover, electric cars are the only ones allowed in such zones. Thus, the inhabitants of downtown zones are more prone to buy one of these means of transportation. Furthermore, public transport should be reinforced to allow the ones who live in the suburbs to arrive at the centre whenever they need to go shopping or visit their relatives. Experts advocate for a solid and coherent map of bus and subway services in the cities to cover most of the surrounding villages. On top of that, some voices say that if there were a good bike lane system, the commuters would attend their jobs pedalling, as well as riding their scooters. Finally, the main action that must be taken is persuading the people that there is an alternative to the car. A good advertisement campaign showing the effects of fumes and emissions on the environment could be the key to making drivers change their minds.