Nowadays more people are choosing to live with friends or alone rather than with their families. This trend is likely to have a negative impact on communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The number of people who prefer to live alone or in a shared flat has been increased. While there is a controversial argument that this trend would harm societies, I believe that it simultaneously has several benefits and drawbacks. On the one hand, living alone might increase the risk of depression. If people do not have efficient communication, they will have to face mental health problems. In other words, humans need to get emotional support from their families or close friends to remain healthy. They also may feel bored in the case of loneliness for a long time. For example, I used to live alone during my college and I became too introverted to go out and too bored to stay home. Another difficulty of living on our own would be in the time of emergencies. If a person, who lives alone, became ill, there would be no one to take care of her or him. On the other hand, I think there are three main benefits besides the above-mentioned disadvantages of living alone. Firstly, it would make people more independent and raise the feeling of responsibility. They need to learn housework such as cooking and cleaning on their own and also, they should learn financial management to avoid pecuniary problems. Secondly, these people have more time to think and plan to reach their goals. They can also choose where to live to be close to their office or in the countryside. Finally, they are free to have any lifestyle they want that may affect their motivation and discipline. In conclusion, although there is a population who believe that living alone or with friends would negatively affect societies, in my opinion, this trend would also benefit communities.