In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Advertising has been developed as one of the main pillars in business world. Although there are multiple ways of advertising a product, it appears to be that companies keep insisting on the new features their product has and this might not be a good idea. First of all, it is important to say that marketing and advertising can make a difference in a competitive system. Furthermore, companies need to show that their new product is better than the previous ones and those from rival companies. Thirdly, this forces companies to innovate and improve their products. For example, Apple brings a new iPhone almost every year, reinventing it each time. Although it might seem a good idea, actually this kind of advertising could possible lead to the worst situation. This is called aggressive marketing because it centres the consumer attention in a speci c characteristic and ignoring the rest. An speci c example could be “No man’s sky” videogame which was advertised as the revolutionary game that would change videogames concept. Unfortunately, that was far from reality. The game had a lot of problems and errors that made obvious the developer company stressed too much in advertising. In conclusion, I think focusing in new features is good for the companies but has a terrible effect for consumers, who might end up disappointed after buying the product.