Do the dangers derived from the use of chemicals in food production and preservation outweigh the advantages?

Nowadays, the shelves of supermarkets are full of products that lean on chemicals for arriving fresh to the consumer. Many people claim that these substances have an effect on our health and should be eliminated. In this essay, I will justify the use of additives in food because I think that they are safe and useful. To start with, the population of this world has outreached the barrier of 8 billion people. Feeding them with fresh food brought directly from the producer is impossible. As a consequence, distribution chains rely on using preservers for reaching the buyers that live away from the places where these goods are produced. Moreover, crop production would gradually decline without the use of artificial fertilizers because of the lack of nutrients. For instance, without chemicals, crops would not be able to feed not even a tenth of the current population of the planet. Furthermore, these preservers keep the sanitary condition of canned meat or vegetables. In the nineteenth century, food poisoning was a serious threat to public health. For example, botulism caused the loss of thousands of lives every year during the last century. Today, additives used for preventing rot and germ proliferation have reduced poisoning to almost negligible levels. On the other hand, some of these additives can be dangerous if misused and have an effect on the environment. Last year, different dioxin spills caused almost a hundred casualties. Consequently, trained personnel should be the only ones dedicated to formulating and controlling the chemicals added to aliments. For that reason, governments must watch for their correct use through the regular inspection of food industries. Personally speaking, I think that the advantages clearly overcome the disadvantages. In my opinion, the world needs to research for better chemicals, not eliminate them, in order to feed the globe with cheap and reliable food.