In some cities, the government has tired to reduce traffic. For instance, they imposed a congestion tax during rush hours. Do you think this development is positive or negative?

The government officials in some cities have tackled the menace of traffic bottleneck and the imposition of a congestion tax during peak hours is referred to as a specific measurement to address the problem. In my opinion, it is a negative development due to the economic impacts on individuals and the non-substantial benefits. One issue we should regard is that levying a traffic jam tax has a crucial economic effect on daily commuters who are using their own vehicles. In terms of some professions, it's largely believed that the private modes of transportation have outweighed the public transport network because of job requirements. For instance, Grab drivers need to commute by their cars on the roads all day to pick up customers and they can not avoid travelling during rush hours as a result. It seems to be not fair that they have been forced to pay additional overpopulation levy out of their salaries. Moreover, due to the pandemic, the working class has struggled to meet their daily lives and this kind of duty might create an excessive financial burden to them. Another issue, in my opinion, is the short-term benefit of this measurement. There is no guarantee that it could decrease the amount of traffic volume. Implying the congestion tariff could solely discourage individuals to limit their usage of private vehicles and stimulus them to use the public modes of transport instead in the short run. Eventually, the commuters accept the truth that they would rather pay cost than commute by public transport network due to its drawbacks. A more structured approach focusing on improving road infrastructure or shared transportation could bring more long-term benefits to society. In conclusion, although some city authorities implied a congestion contribution during rush hours to ensure decongestion, it brought too many problems to be considered as a positive trend.