In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work?

Over the past couple of years, schools provide a wide range of curriculums such as CBSE or IB for a student to choose from and select their learning methodology. While few children prefer to grasp practical skills from school in order to secure a good job in the future, the others prefer gaining generic education from the institutions. This essay will discuss the changes schools can incorporate to better prepare the students to face the corporate world. To begin with, schools could modify their syllabus according to the skills required in the job market. Several skills such as basic financing, networking, story stelling, time management etc., are considered valuable in the world of work, thereby learning and mastering these skills at a young age would help a child gain an edge over other individuals while applying for jobs. For example, according to research by Coursera, four out of five individuals enrolled for their finance and story stelling courses are aged between 25 - 40 years and are working individuals, implying most companies prefer hiring individuals who have honed such skills. Additionally, institutions should encourage students to undertake internships, either paid or unpaid, as it would help them gain hands-on experience in their industry as well as learn practical skills which would further add value to their resumes. Furthermore, by making internships a mandatory requirement to be promoted to the next level, the students would get a chance to work with the industry professionals as well as across multiple departments, thereby enabling them to make knowledgeable career decisions. We can look at the example of the CEO at Google, in one of the interviews he mentioned that he had worked across at least six industries before making the decision of building a career in the technology sector. To summarize, schools should constantly make amendments to their curriculum in order to prepare the children to face the corporate world. By teaching basic soft skills and encouraging internships at a young age, schools would not only make the children job-ready but also build a better future for the country.