Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Several environmental advocates are alarmed by the overwhelming rise of aquatic pollution of lakes, rivers and oceans. There are innumerable reasons for water degradation which has a detrimental impact on both human and animal species. From my standpoint, this essay will bring spotlight to the severity of the issue which will be backed by concrete evidence of proof. Known as the “Universal solvent”, water is the only liquid known for its extravagant soluble qualities. Bearing that in mind, many factors contribute to the contamination of these water bodies. Firstly, the city sewages are the highest donors to these tainted sources. Water which is generated through house waste is the leading cause for befoulment. Secondly, the agriculture sector. Farmers who apply fertilisers and pesticides fail to realise how much damage they are generating for marine life. During the rains, these harmful chemicals wash off from the farmlands and have adverse effects on the water based organisms. Lastly and more importantly, the untreated radioactive waste being manufactured from the nuclear industries. The hazardous waste is disposed of in the near river streams having a detrimental impact on the entire ecosystem. Emphasing Emphasis on the effects on both the individual and mammal population, water pollution is considered as one of the biggest interruption in the biological system. With the break in the cycle, the chances of survival plummets down. The life of all organisms are dependent on water. Furthermore, the extinction of aquatic animals has a drastic impact on other creatures. For instance, a recent study conducted by an environmental news channel states that the population of beluga whales has diminished due to the herbicides used in agricultural activities. Moreover, with the contents being dispersed in the groundwater, they can easily penetrate through our household water systems where it is used for our daily chores and drinking purposes, making us prone to deadly diseases like typhoid, cholera,etc. In conclusion, marine contamination has lethal repercussions on all life forms. If suitable waste management techniques are applied, then there can be a scope for a better future for the planet.