Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. Other countries have no intention of doing this. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion on which side you favour.

Most countries agree that the legislation against smoking tobacco in public should exist. However, it seems that some nations have not set a nationwide smoking ban covering all public indoor areas. We will consider both sides of the discussion in the essay. On the one hand, opponents of smoking bans have been argued that it is against their ‘freedom of choice’, which leads them to travel somewhere else to smoke cigarettes. Moreover, some countries, such as China, agreed that banning only smoking does not seem right as long as there are many potential health hazards exist (drugs, alcohol, etc), which pose similar, or much greater than smoking. Furthermore, the hospitality industry tends to be affected by the smoking ban the most. Individuals who smoke, are major patrons of retailers and the number of these patrons might diminish when a smoking ban is imposed. In that case, the possibility of numerous employees losing their jobs may designate, which could lead to a rise in unemployment. However, those who support the smoking ban are able to cite evidence from other countries (including Australia and Russia) where against smoking in public areas has apparently benefited a various number of health advantages due to reduction of respiratory problems and heart attacks. The policy is significantly useful to the non-smokers, who happen to inhale second-hand smoke and thus, breathe in a similar substance as smokers. In addition, proponents of the smoking ban claim that the influence of smokers is extremely reduced in some countries. For example, after they imposed a smoking ban in Australia, more individuals stopped smoking, which insist that fewer people would be influenced by smokers.