Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays. Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general.

Nowadays, few individuals are finding time for their hobbies. I surmise that the reasons behind this are job and technology and these affect their personal well being and their relationship with the public. To begin, some individuals work two jobs to meet the daily needs of their families. For example, individuals who tend to spend 16 hours at work will come home tired. They preferred to watch movies and sleep rather than perform certain activities. These hobbies such as reading, cooking, playing an instrument and sports are vital for their physical, mental, spiritual and social well being. Furthermore, the use of technology such as smart cellphones and tablets makes people busy and idle because they often consume hours browsing different applications on their mobiles phones with no physical activities. As a result, they have no moment to engage in healthy activities that would help them to stay fit and healthy. On the other hand, the effects on people who do not have leisure time are often stressed out because they are always busy working and have no time to relax and enjoy. In addition, social interaction with family and friends are also affected because they can not find time to verbalize their feelings and problems. These often lead to physical and mental burnout and will result in some medical illnesses such as psychological problems and cardiovascular diseases. Thus, this will increase the need for medical health services such as hospitalization and mental counselling which will add a burden to the government. In conclusion, I believe that having spare time for leisure is imperative for the well-being of an individual. This is to eliminate physical, mental, and social exhaustion that will contribute to certain diseases.