Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace.Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion,should be the main function of a university?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the purpose of university education. However, whether colleges should mainly provide job-related skills or pure knowledge to graduates has caused a heated debate. In my view, I strongly agree with the view that becoming a career-oriented student would become more significant, not only for themselves but also our society, for the following reason. Firstly, it is obvious that for most young people, the purpose of receiving knowledge is to obtain practical abilities and experience which will enable them to become qualified employees in the job market in the future. For example, there are a large number of graduates who might not be able to find satisfactory positions in the workforce, which may trigger a higher unemployment rate If educational institutions do not give priority to such types of instructions. Therefore, it is based on most students' requirements to earn a living and support their own families by working for a dreamy company. Moreover, focusing on those job-related skills can benefit the university itself. For instance, while students have internships, in loads of famed companies, such as TASLA and APPLE, the university can quickly respond and consolidate the relative information as well as teaching resources to offer advanced courses, which not only can encourage graduates to be more competitive in the job market, but the educational institution itself will keep pace with the top of those majors and areas and move forward. This is not to say, however, that we should neglect the problem it has caused. There are, of course, youth interested in knowledge for its own sake, and they will later do what they want, for example, they can become scientists and phycologists who will make greater contributions to our society. But unfortunately, these people are few and far between. In summary, from my perspective, the major function of universities should be providing most young people job-related skills, guaranteeing a high rate of employment, and thus helping universities and society function better. Meanwhile, we should not underestimate the other important roles universities are undertaking.