Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some individuals have canvassed that food science and its preparation be given a high priority, while others have argued that academic time should be utilized for a more worthwhile course. This essay agrees with the former view that food science and processing be considered an important subject of study due to their role in maintaining good health and preventing diseases. This essay will discuss both views. On the one hand, proponents who argue that studying food science and preparation is worthless believe that there is really nothing special to study in foods. They feel that other factors such as taste, cultural beliefs, and people's backgrounds have much influence on the choice of food than science which they believe has little role to play. For example, people of western descent are likely to consume cholesterol-rich diets. That being said, food plays a pivotal role in the health and general well-being of people, therefore studying its science will go a long way to improve the health of people. This is because it will fetch people with knowledge as regards the essential nutrients in healthy food, how best to prepare it, and what kind of foods are to be considered harmful. For example, the health risk associated with fattening foods are now being identified; thanks to the knowledge of science. Thus it is easier to prevent these health -related problems by avoiding their consumption. In conclusion, though, tastes and social background influence the disposition of people to food choice, studying the science of food, as well as its preparation, can help to promote good health by fortifying one with the knowledge necessary to avoid harmful food.