Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

Some companies try to encourage their team,who contribute best to the company by giving bonus money. Although this may encourage some part of the staff, another part can get discouraged with this. However, by using this manner the effects and the efficacy of most workers can be uplifted and apart from this approach, we can use promotions of the staff to encourage them as well. In the following,essay this writer wishes to elaborate further on this topic. To begin with, when we consider the effectiveness of giving bonuses to the staff, most of the time it will lead to positive developments. Apart from the fact that this may increase the enthusiasm of the workers, it will also increase the effectiveness of the workers as well. For example, according to a study conducted by the Central Bank of Sri Lanka, there has been a 15% increase in the effectiveness of their team after giving them a bonus in the previous year. On the other hand, apart from giving money for gain best of their workers, most companies try to give promotions to their employees depending on their experience and the quality of work. Although, this may give them a small salary hike, most workers like this method since they could get other benefits like transport with promotions.To illustrate this, according to a study conducted in a leading garment factory in Sri Lanka, most of the section managers have voted on promotions rather than year-end bonuses, since they may get a car when they promote to the next step. In conclusion, even though some team members may not like it, giving bonus money to employees is a good method to uplift their productivity. Apart from this, implementing a good promotion method is also a proven method to encourage the staff to work hard.