As computers are being used more and more in education, there will soon be no role for the teacher in the classroom. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that since computer usage in education has become more and more relevant, teachers will not be needed in schools in the next future. In my opinion, I disagree with the fact that teachers will not have a role in the classroom due to technology development. On the contrary, I believe that a machine could never replace a human being, especially a teacher. As human beings, we are provided with some particulars features that a machine will never have, such as critical-thinking and soft skills, which are essential in teaching. First of all, even though computers might be considered incapable of mistake and faster than a human being in processing numbers and data, still they can never be regarded as smart or clever. Electronical devices simply repeat an input that has been given to them by someone. They are incapable of coming up with new solutions to new problems or challenges. This is critical when dealing with students. Each individual is unique and different from the others, thus it is necessary to provide tailor-made responses to their needs and questions, which will be impossible to do for a computer. Moreover, we tend to forget that teaching, especially in elementary and middle school, is not just about proving students with information and checking their preparation. It is also about supporting kids emotionally, inspiring and guiding them throughout their path. Computers will never be capable of feeling something, because they are not human, they do not have souls. For example, how can a machine possibly comfort a sad child or how can it advise a young boy over his future? To conclude, computers might be faster and more efficient than human beings, but their lack of intelligence and emotions makes impossibile for them to replace teachers, which will always represent a critical educational pilar for children.