It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

To be able to figure out what is acceptable and what is not, is an important lesson to be learnt by all humans. In recent times, there is a raging debate over how and to what extent our children should be penalised to make them able to identify good and bad actions. In my opinion, punishing the wrongdoings of children in a moderate and acceptable manner is the way forward. Firstly, it is important to clearly lay out the rules and guidelines before children to help them navigate in the environment. For example, they should be told that as soon as they get up, they should brush their teeth and they should be appreciated when they complete their task which will help parents to enforce this good behaviour. In case they forget to brush one day, they should not be penalised for their first mistake. However, if the bad behaviour continues, it is imperative to act strict and make them realise their mistake. They can be punished for example, by denying their favorite candy in the evening. Furthermore, few behavors behaviour like dis-respecting elders, bullying a fellow kid, call for an immediate remedial measures. Especially in schools, where these behaviours are observed, teachers should be vigilant about the same. To reinforce good behaviours, schools may use mediums like sports, drama clubs to help children identify acceptable acts. Punishments like exclusion from the basketball team for a week on disrespecting the coach, can help the children to reflect on their mistake and help them not to repeat the same action in future. To conclude, it is necessary to adopt both rewards and punishments approach in moderation to help children learn the difference between a good and a bad behaviour. Punishing the smallest of mistakes may lead to children being fearful and rebellious in nature.